I guess it’s just that time of year when everything comes to a head…I have friends crying on my shoulder…family suffering…and a bazilion and one problems of my own…merry Christmas everyone.

Last year my friend was suffering, she was in 6th form doing her A2 levels, 6th form isn’t for everyone and it defiantly wasn’t for her. She didn’t understand the work, she was getting straight U’s, she had extra tuition but it didn’t work, her mum was frustrated, she split up with her boyfriend and everything was just too much. I remember writing a letter to her because I’d heard a story about people doing this and how it helped, I’d also received such letters and they’d helped inspire me when I was low. It went something like this:

Hey, I’m not really sure what I’m gonna end up writing but here goes and I hope some sense comes out of the end of this pen or I’m gonna look like a right pleb when you  read this. I know how isolated and helpless you feel and how it feels as though you can’t do this, but trust me you can, I know you can. I’ve seen what you can do  when you try to I know you are trying so hard right now but believe me if you keep it up you will reap the rewards. If there’s one thing  I’ve learnt from being bipolar it’s that every low is followed by a high, and as low as your low is now, that just means the high will be even higher and you’ll feel even better when you’re done as you will be able to look back and say that you came through this and know you deserve this happiness. This isn’t a cheap emotion it’s something worth feeling and celebrating, something you earnt and can sit back and know you did all you could. And you do and will deserve that elation and trust me it will come even if it seems it never will. One last recommendation for this situation is to learnt from this experience, don’t just let it be a painful scar in your life, learn from it so it won’t happen again then some good will come from this.

My friend passed her A2’s with three C’s and only one U, she is now studying horticulture at college and loves it, her mum is still stress-y as she always was but she has met new people and new guys who are better than her ex, she has restarted her life and she loves it.

So when life is throwing everything it can at you, look to the horizon and the end of the pain, if you can’t see it then look at the next hurdle and work your way round each one

Don’t look at the bigger picture, look at the smaller one, look at now, look at today, work through today’s problems and bit by bit you will get there, you will break through and the horizon will come into sight. If you can see the horizon then don’t take your eyes off it because as a friend of mine once said “If you keep your eyes on the goal it might just make the obstacles that little bit easier. If you believe in a G-d then know  that he will never throw more at you than you can stand, if you don’t believe then believe in your own power and strength, even if you seem to have none because somewhere in you there is and that small flame will guide you through the longest of nights.

Good luck and never forget the high to come after this low.

 

If you do not hope, you will not find what is beyond your hopes.” – St. Clement of Alexandra

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas Alva Edison

 

Everything is okay in the end, if it’s not ok, then it’s not the end.” – Anonymous

 

