I was recently told a the life story of someone in higher authority than me, she stood in front of us and told us straight;

I was born in South Africa, my mother was too poor to look after us and had to move to the city to work so she could afford to have us educated as many women did, so I lived with relatives. Things were bad, I mean really bad, so bad I couldn’t even afford shoes on my feet and had to walk barefoot. I’m not telling you this to evoke sympathy, I’m telling you this to let you know that things can be achieved.

I grew up in an area where most people were addicted to alcohol or drugs and all that was expected of me was that I would become and addict or part of a gang, not that I would end up teaching in England. the area was so bad that muggings and attacks were common place and I was held at knife point many times. But me and my sister had other ideas. Some how my mother managed to pay to get us through university and I came over here to work.

I want you to know that no matter what life throws at you, you can make it through, and you can be the best you can be, I want that for you, I want you to expect nothing less for yourself and strive for the top position no matter how unlikely that might seem. Because I believe that each one of you can be it.

