What makes a perfect day? The sun? Friends? Well here’s one of mine which was so funny and lovely and heartwarming and beautiful i just feel like sharing it.

I dress in black most of the time and love the whole Gothic/punk look, so people don’t talk to me much, but i went into town with my mum and as we were standing outside Specsavers waiting for it to open an old man wandered past, i smiled at him and he stopped. He smiled back and said “Why did the skeleton cross the road?” “I don’t know we said” “To get to the body shop” he replied pointing down the high street at the Body Shop at the end. In Specsavers i had my eyes tested for the first time since i was 6, whilst waiting to see the optician me and my mum wandered round the shop as i tried on glasses and laughing at myself, just like i’ve always done since i was little, but no one batted an eye at us as i wandered around in the biggest frames i could find pulling faces at myself in the mirrors. We saw the optician, i chose the frames i wanted and instead of having to wait a week for them to be made, they were made in a hour.

During that hour we went into charity shops where the women behind the till stared in wander at my sequined 4 inch heels and asked how on earth i walked in them (hyper mobile joints and a childhood spent walking on my tip-toes for the record). So more strangers talking to me rather than being rejected and labelled by society as ‘depressing’. We also wandered into TK Maxx where we mucked around finding weird stock. Walking up towards the main mall, a leafleter saw me and said “Ah, look at the shoes! No small men for you, only tall ones…can i have a hug?” so i gave him one and he bid us farewell with a jolly “Have a nice day”. We went arounf town, did our bit and as we walked back out of the mall we came across the leafleter again. “Hello again” i said “Ah you little tease, breaking my heart again like this today!” i laughed and he once again told us to have a nice day. Me and my mum then went into the library where we sat and read, happy in each others company and the peace of the library until my dad arrived to take us home.

It’s little things like today that remind me how much of an impact a little comment, a smile or a joke can make to a complete stranger. I’m not trying to boast and go “Look at my amazing, mad, crazy life” , my point is, imagine what life would be like if every one was like the old man, the charity shop workers and the leafleter who made a boring job fun. ?The world would be so amazing. Of course as a reality it probably holds no weight, but we can change the world by changing someone else’s, a smile can brighten someones day, then they will go on with joy in there heart and brighten someone elses, and so on.

Today, give a stranger one of your smiles.  It might be the only sunshine he sees all day.  ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

A smile confuses an approaching frown.  ~Author Unknown

A smile is a curve that sets everything straight.  ~Phyllis Diller

Smile…not only is it good for the receiver,

Smile - sunshine is good for your teeth. ~Author Unknown

it is good for you too.

